2018 Award for “Outstanding Subject Matter Program by a Team Award” was Tied 

— Written By and last updated by
en Español / em Português

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.


Inglês é o idioma de controle desta página. Na medida que haja algum conflito entre o texto original em Inglês e a tradução, o Inglês prevalece.

Ao clicar no link de tradução, um serviço gratuito de tradução será ativado para converter a página para o Português. Como em qualquer tradução pela internet, a conversão não é sensivel ao contexto e pode não ocorrer a tradução para o significado orginal. O serviço de Extensão da Carolina do Norte (NC State Extension) não garante a exatidão do texto traduzido. Por favor, observe que algumas funções ou serviços podem não funcionar como esperado após a tradução.


English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

The first award goes to Speedway to Healthy, a program designed to improve eating and health behaviors among NC youth. 

Team members Dr. Claudette Smith, Dr. Carinthia Cherry and Shawnee Robinson developed the Speedway to Healthy, a 1,200-square-foot walk-through learning environment representing the human body. Youth journey through the body in a race to health, visiting 11 pit-stops where volunteers provide an interactive learning experience about nutrition and health. The Speedway to Healthy targets youth in kindergarten through 5th grade and includes classroom activities that are based on North Carolina Essential Standards and Standard Course of Study to enhance the experience and to ensure that it is relevant to classroom instruction. At the finish line, North Carolina’s youth have learned the link between nutrition, health, and physical activity; build the skills needed to practice lifelong healthy behaviors; and improve their health status. After going through the Speedway to Healthy exhibit, students indicated that they intended to eat vegetables and make healthy choices.

And the tie for “The Outstanding Subject Matter Program by a Team Award” goes to the Extension Master Food Volunteer Program (EMFV), a program that supports FCS agents in the delivery of food and nutrition programs by providing formalized training to volunteers and a volunteer management system. Extension Master Food Volunteer Program team image

This program gives FCS agents the tools and resources they need to strengthen their programming in food and nutrition, as well as to expand their capacity to serve multiple counties. The EMFV program also provides a way for volunteers to deepen their community engagement while multiplying the impacts of Extension programs. For 2017, the seven agents who participated in the EMFV pilot have a total of 31 volunteers, who have contributed 1,149 volunteer service hours and reached 5,140 contacts in eleven counties. Team members include Dr. Dara BloomZandra Alford, Geri Bushel, Ben Chapman, Carolyn Dunn, Harriett Edwards, Annie Hardison-Moody, Lindsey Haynes-Maslow, Gretchen Hofing, Katrina Levine, Joanna Lelekacs, Robyn Stout, Tessa Thraves, Michelle Estrada, Sue Estridge, Kristin Davis, Tracy Davis.